Paphos old town market has a long history in the heart of local people.Since we can recall, “agora” (market) was the vivid, colorful spirit of Paphos historical centre and district.
The unique architecture of the Public Library, the town hall and the numerous neoclassical buildings.
We suggest you wear comfortable shoes and a sun hat, bring a camera, a shopping bag and a bottle of water if you plan to adventure into the vibrant heart of Pafos Old Town.
Saint Neophytos monastery lies 10 km outside Pafos, near Tala village. Saint Neophytos was the founder of the monastery in 1159. He lived there and died in 1219 at the age of 85. The main church of the monastery was built around 200 years after his death and is dedicated to the Virgin Mary.
The Panagia Chrysopolitissa church was built in the 13th century over the ruins of the largest Early Byzantine basilica on the island. Within the compound is St. Paul’s Pillar. Originally the church was seven–aisled, but later was reduced to five aisles. The floor was covered with colourful mosaics, some of which are still preserved.
The abandoned monastery of Panagia tou Sinti is found on the banks of the Xeros River in Pentalia, and is dedicated to the Virgin Mary (Panagia) of Sinti.
This ruined medieval fortress, situated near the harbour, was built by the Lusignans at the beginning of the 13th century on the site of a previous Byzantine castle. It was destroyed by an earthquake in 1222.
A sanctuary dedicated to the god of medicine, Asklepeios, it was also used as a healing centre. It is situated to the south of the Odeon and southwest of the Agora. It is a large building complex with several rooms and a square courtyard.
The Agora, situated in front of the Odeon, dates from the middle of the 2nd century A.D. It formed a square courtyard measuring 95 x 95 metres, with colonnaded porticos. The columns of the colonnade have Corinthian capitals but no flutes.